Can’t be 100% to someone.

There’s something to be said about the girl that loves her man in spite of his short comings. The truth is, no one will ever be everything you need. You can’t expect someone to be 100% of what you need, not when someone is a human being. They have their flaws, their faults, their demons. You can’t expect someone to be everything you need.

So what happens when you need more than your partner is giving you? Because like I just said, someone cant give you 100% of everything you need. So what about the percent you aren’t getting. That’s the struggle in relationships isn’t it? That percent you aren’t getting. That’s why people argue, and fight. That’s why relationships are give and take.

Even in the marriage I am in, the relationship I am in, I’m not 100% satisfied. I’m not saying I’m not happy, because I am. I’m saying that there are parts of me that isn’t receiving every single thing I need. And maybe that makes me a horrible person to admit that. Because my husband tries very hard. He puts in a lot of effort. I see how much he works. And so I think that also makes me feel guilty for not having every need met when he is trying so hard to do so. And so I blame myself for some of his insecurity, because I feel like sometimes he must feel that he isn’t measuring up to what I exactly need.

But at the same time, I know I can’t be everything he needs all the time. I can’t be the right mood, the right person, or say the right words. I can’t always be the right thing, if I am to be myself. And so then when his needs aren’t met, I also feel that guilt and blame of that.

Its easy to spot the things that aren’t exactly what you want them to be. Like when a picture is slightly crooked. Its easy for that to draw your focus away from the beautiful art in front of you. And so sometimes when you do spot that one thing that you aren’t completely happy with, make sure you admire the things you are happy with about the person you are choosing to share your life with. That’s the test of a relationship isn’t it? To have someone not be everything you need, but you love them anyways?

And from an outsider looking in, I get many people tell me they wish they had the relationship that Jeremy and I have. We have a good relationship. We enjoy eachother’s company. We make time for eachother, we think about eachother, and that makes the little percent that he doesn’t meet not as difficult to blur over.

Leave a Reply

